No Work-Life Balance

As my job gets more stressful and demands more of my evening time, I am increasingly motivated to get out of this rat race and retire early. Overall, my job is not bad, and I don’t mind working every night for an hour or more, as long as I have the flexibility to choose when I work. What I despise are the standing scheduled 1-2 hour conference calls smack in the middle of my night, four nights a week. I rather completely give up two nights a week for conference calls and have the rest of the week nights off.

In Silicon Valley, it has become the norm that many employees in the Hi-Tech industry have to work in the early mornings and late nights with other people half way across the world. I have been doing this for the last eight years and I am so tired of it. It wasn’t bad when I had conference calls 1-2 nights a week, but now it’s 3-4 nights a week.  Last night my calls started at 8pm and they didn’t end until 11:20pm (still have to reply to emails afterwards to make sure we don’t lose a day of work). Some days I just want to cry and other days I just want to throw up my arms and quit.

I work for a large company and hard work is rarely reflected fairly for people on salary in this company, unless you are in an executive position, which I am not. My old boss used to tell me not to work so hard, because it wouldn’t be compensated. My new boss couldn’t care less. I have status meetings three nights a week with him, albeit with a different mix of people on the call, it is still a waste of my precious time.

I don’t have work-life balance. My weekdays are all dedicated to work. If I am lucky I get one week night off a week and I get to spend it with the BF. I have no time for friends. Even when I have some free time during the day, all my friends are at work. My schedule is completely reversed from other people. I want to have a normal schedule again. Even if I have to work 9-10 hours a day, I wouldn’t mind as long as they are continuous, and free up my nights.

I need a plan fast to get out of this rat race and retire early. A six figure salary is not worth working myself sick. My current work schedule is not sustainable and it’s not the life I want to lead in the next 5 or 10 years. So what’s the plan?

Lady Butterfly

 

Leave a Reply

