2016 March Expenses Review

CutSpending

My March expenses went through the roof. Two of my categories were a lot higher than expected, and one category was expected to be higher than usual.

Monthly Expenses By Category March
Fix Expenses
Mortgage* 829
HOA / Property Tax 925
Insurance (HO/Car) 150
Utility (Electricity, Phone, DSL) 106
Total Fix Expenses 2,010
Variable Expenses
Gasoline  81
Dining Out / Grocery  425
Clothing/Personal Care  28
Household  10
Entertainment/Leisure  8
Medical/Health  215
Misc  360
Total Variable Expenses  1,127
Total Monthly Expenses  3,137

March was a terrible month for my expenses. Not only I overspent in a few categories, but I also paid my semi-annual property tax. Since I prorated the amount by month on this blog, it’s not as a shocker as it is in my Money program. My property tax for half year is over $3K. Luckily, I am getting a $2k+ tax refund this year, so I feel half as bad.  I had two birthday celebrations this month and that took more than half of my monthly budget. First birthday celebration was at Benihana’s and we all had the rib eye steak with lobster and scallop dinner for two. My friend has never experienced Teppanyaki, so it was a nice experience for her and her two little ones. Personally, I have been to a few different Teppanyaki restaurants and this experience was only sub-par. For another friend’s birthday, I took the couple to a southeast Asian restaurant where the meal was pricey, but not as bad as the Benihana experience.

Southwest had a sale so I booked tickets to Portland and Las Vegas for super cheap. Portland was $53 each way and Las Vegas was $43 each way. Unfortunately, I have to cancel my Portland trip due to the BF’s busy work schedule. I am a bit disappointed, because I was really looking forward to it. I might also cancel the Vegas tickets, if I don’t have to attend the HOA meeting in May.

The medical and health category was also higher this month, but that was expected. Some day I will write a post to explain.  Not included in this table is an extra monthly payment of $800 to mortgage* principal and a $275 monthly expense for half of the Las Vegas rental property.

March Passive Income = $ 569

March Expenses = $ 3,137

Shortage = $ 2,568

My March passive income covers about 19% of monthly expenses.

Cheers,

Lady Butterfly

2 thoughts on “2016 March Expenses Review

Leave a Reply

