2016 Retirement Accounts Review

It’s tax season and this is a good time to review how my retirement accounts performed last year. I have a 401k (traditional and Roth) plan through my current company, a rollover traditional IRA from my previous company and a Roth IRA that I opened over a decade ago on my own.

Last year my retirement accounts performed very well overall. In Q2 of last year, I moved a large potion of my investment from stocks to REITs and purchased silver in my traditional IRA account. Right before the presidential election, I rebalanced my 401k so a larger percentage of investments is in bonds. Overall, I want about 15% of my retirement account investments in bonds.

Lets take a look at how these accounts performed and how much dividends received in each account last year.

Retirement Account Amount
401K $6,443.28
IRA $3,757.87
Roth IRA $646.43
2016 Retirement Dividend $10,847.58

2016
401k Performance: up 11.50%
IRA Performance: up 4.33%
Roth IRA Performance: up 13.66%

I am happy with the performance, but I think I would like to make more dividends in these accounts. Compare to last year, dividends decreased by almost 50% even though the combined gain in these accounts were about 10%. I will re-evaluate mid year to see if it makes sense to move back some investments from bonds back to stocks.

Cheers,
Lady Butterfly

Leave a Reply

